Hoffman, a pioneering nuclear chemist who joined the Nuclear Science Division in 1984 as a faculty senior scientist, was honored for her scientific discoveries that advanced the field of nuclear and radiochemistry, for distinguished service to the DOE’s missions in national security and nuclear waste management, and for her sustained leadership in radiochemistry research and education. Somorjai, a world authority on catalysis, was a faculty senior scientist in the Lab’s Materials Sciences Division, for many years.

Watch the video of the ceremony or enjoy a quick look at the event’s highlights on YouTube. Read more about Berkeley Lab’s 2023 laureates in this News Center press release: Darleane Hoffman and Gabor Somorjai Receive the Enrico Fermi Presidential Award.